Commission’s Technical Advisory Group (CTAG)

The SCCWRP Commission’s Technical Advisory Group (CTAG) is the scientific advisory committee to the SCCWRP Commission. Each of SCCWRP’s 14 member agencies appoints one representative to CTAG. The panel holds quarterly meetings at SCCWRP approximately one month prior to Commission meetings, to review SCCWRP science, collaborate and partner on emerging research initiatives, make recommendations on forthcoming agenda items, and discuss and set priorities for future research.

Wastewater Treatment Agencies

City of Los Angeles Bureau of Sanitation

  • Stacee Karnya

    Laboratory Manager I

    CTAG Representative

Sanitation Districts of Los Angeles County

  • Currently Vacant



Orange County Sanitation District

  • Dr. Samuel Choi

    Environmental Supervisor

    CTAG Chair

    George Robertson

City of San Diego Public Utilities Department

  • Dr. Ryan Kempster

    Senior Marine Biologist

    CTAG Representative

    Ami Latker

Stormwater Management Agencies

Los Angeles County Flood Control District

  • Mark Lombos, P.E.

    Asst. Deputy Dir., Stormwater Quality

    Alternate Commissioner

    CTAG Representative

    CTAG Alternate
    Dr. Melissa Turcotte

Orange County Public Works

  • Chris Crompton

    Manager, Environmental Resources

    Alternate Commissioner

    CTAG Representative

San Diego County Watershed Protection Program

  • Jo Ann Weber

    Water Resources Manager

    Alternate Commissioner

    CTAG Representative

Ventura Watershed Protection District

  • Dave Laak

    Stormwater Resources Manager

    CTAG Representative

Water-Quality Regulatory Agencies

California State Water Resources Control Board

  • Lori Webber

    Senior Environmental Scientist

    CTAG Representative

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 9

  • Terry Fleming

    Environmental Scientist

    CTAG Representative

    Diane Fleck

California Ocean Protection Council

  • Kaitlyn Kalua

    Water Quality Program Manager

    CTAG Representative

Los Angeles Regional Water Quality Control Board

  • Dr. Emily Duncan

    Senior Environmental Scientist Specialist

    CTAG Vice Chair

Santa Ana Regional Water Quality Control Board

  • Dr. Jason Freshwater

    Environmental Scientist

    CTAG Representative

San Diego Regional Water Quality Control Board

  • Chad Loflen

    Senior Environmental Scientist

    CTAG Representative